wrap up

October Wrap Up

Five days into November and I’m just sitting down to write my October Wrap Up? Sounds about right. I’ve never done a wrap up before, so this format may change throughout my time as a book blogger. I’m not sure if I want to include everything I’ve done in October or just the books I’ve read. I think, for now, I’ll just start by wrapping up my October reads. From my least favorite to my favorite.

I read 8 books this month. One doesn’t have a page count listed anywhere, but it was fairly short so we’ll just call it 150 pages. That brings my page count to 3,335 pages. I read 1 Romance, 1 YA Dystopian, 1 Sci-Fi/Horror, 1 YA Sci-Fi, 1 Historical Fiction, 1 Horror, 1 YA Fantasy, and 1 Thriller, so my reading was all over the map as far as genres are concerned.

91r1xa97DAL

The Woman in the Window by A.J. Finn

Yeah, this was my least favorite read this month. Maybe one of my least favorite reads of the year? I was entirely underwhelmed the entire time I read this, and the writing style just didn’t jive with me. I gave this 2 stars.

919QE25JnTL

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

I’m not sure if I didn’t enjoy this book because it was so hyped, and I was completely underwhelmed, or if I just don’t vibe with Madeline Miller’s writing style. Ultimately, I was bored throughout this story, especially during the second half. However, I did think it had a strong start, which is why I landed on a 3-star rating for this one.

91awoVShsNL.jpg

One Dance with a Duke by Tessa Dare

I didn’t review this one. I finished it early on in the month, so I don’t remember enough to give it a whole review, but I do remember I wasn’t impressed. I wasn’t underwhelmed either though, again I was just bored. I felt like it dragged on forever and I had to keep renewing my loan from the library in order to finish it. I landed on a three-star rating. Not bad, but not great. I think I’ll give Tessa Dare another shot before I decide whether or not I like her.

41951626._SY475_

Crier’s War by Nina Varela

I’m a bit bummed that this one only landed at 3.5 stars for me. I absolutely loved the beginning, but towards the end, I felt it really started to drag and I just didn’t enjoy it as much as I’d hoped. I’ve read a few people who enjoyed Ayla’s story more than Crier’s, but I felt the opposite way. I loved learning more about the political issues arising in this world, which I felt we saw in more detail reading from Crier’s POV. Throughout Ayla’s POV though, I just didn’t care. Anyway, I’m still going to read the second installment!

91NuDopXKXL

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

This was a lot of fun. I listened to the audiobook while reading along and the cast of characters narrating was a great touch. I landed with a four-star rating with this one. I think Sci-Fi isn’t really my jam, so I didn’t enjoy it as much as others had. If you like YA Sci-Fi and don’t mind the relationship being a focal point of the book, I’d definitely recommend you pick this up!

32762607

Dark Flowers by Caytlyn Brooke

I’ve never heard this book talked about anywhere, but I requested it on NetGalley anyway based on the cover alone. I went in without having any idea of what it was about but I absolutely loved it. It was so creepy and eery, a perfect read for October! I’d definitely recommend checking this out on NetGalley, if you can, or even purchasing it if you’re in the mood for something extremely dark. There are lots of trigger warnings though, which I included in my full review. I gave this four stars!

4169sZXxF0L._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Into the Drowning Deep by Mira Grant

I just absolutely adore Seanen McGuire (a/k/a Mira Grant’s) writing. This book immediately threw me into the story. I loved the diverse cast of characters, and even the inclusion of a romance, which didn’t feel cheesy or forced despite the events occurring while it was taking place. I also love any story that revolves around mermaids so I gave this one 5 stars.

91mya47EdnL

Thunderhead by Neal Shusterman

I’m so glad I get to include this in my wrap up because The Toll, which is the third and final installment in this trilogy, was released today! I’ve never pre-ordered a book before, but I did with this one. I started Scythe in September and absolutely fell in love with Neal Shusterman’s writing style and the world he developed. I’m not always the best at reading series, but I had to pick up Thunderhead and it did not disappoint. I’d absolutely recommend this series. I gave this one 5 stars.

Let me know if you’ve read any of these books, and what you thought! I’d love to know whether or not you agree with my ratings.

 

 

2 thoughts on “October Wrap Up

Leave a comment